On The Teen Beat: Camila Cabello Leads Nominations at MTV EMAs

Spread the love



Camila Cabello leads the MTV Europe Music Awards nominations as she is up for six prizes.

The ‘Never Be The Same’ hitmaker may need some help carrying home her gongs after the ceremony this year, which will be held in Bilbao, Spain, on November 4, as she’s managed to secured nods in six of the 15 categories – including the prestigious Best Artist list.

However, the 21-year-old singer – who left her band Fifth Harmony in 2016 in order to go solo – will have to fight off some stiff competition if she’s to bag the big prize and be crowned the Best Artist of 2018 as she’s up against Ariana Grande, Drake, Dua Lipa and Post Malone.

The brunette beauty will also go head-to-head with Ariana and Dua for the Best Pop Artist prize, which also includes Hailee Steinfeld and Shawn Mendes, as well as the Best Video category and Best Song for her hit ‘Havana’ ft. Young Thug.

She’s also been recognized for her fan base – securing her a nod in the Best Fans category – while her final nomination could see her bag the prize for the Best US Act – providing she manages to fight off competition from Ariana, Cardi B, Imagine Dragons and Post Malone.

Although Camila could come out on top and be the biggest winner of the night, Ariana and Post Malone are nipping at her heels with four nominations each.

The ‘No Tears Left to Cry’ hitmaker will go up against Childish Gambino’s ‘This Is America’, Lil Dicky and Chris Brown’s ‘Freaky Friday’ and The Carters’ ‘APES**T’ for Best Video, while the popular track – which she wrote for the victims of the Manchester bombings – is also named in the Best Song category, against Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line’s ‘Meant To Be’, Drake’s ‘God’s Plan’ and Post Malone and 21 Savage’s ‘Rockstar’.

Anne-Marie, Bazzi, Cardi B, Hayley Kiyoko and Jessie Reyez will battle it out for Best New, while Drake, Eminem, Migos, Nicki Minaj and Travis Scott are up for Best Hip Hop.

The Best Rock category is made up of 5 Seconds Of Summer, Foo Fighters, Imagine Dragons, Muse and U2, while Fall Out Boy, Panic! At The Disco, The 1975, Thirty Seconds To Mars and Twenty One Pilots will be hoping to scoop the Best Alternative prize.

Calvin Harris, David Guetta, Marshmello, Martin Garrix and The Chainsmokers will go up against each other for the Best Electronic crown, while Ed Sheeran, Muse, Pink, Shawn Mendes and The Carters have been recognized for their stage presence in the Best Live group EMA list.

The full list of 2018 MTV EMA nominations are as follows:

Best Artist

Ariana Grande

Camila Cabello


Dua Lipa

Post Malone

Best Video

Ariana Grande – ‘No Tears Left to Cry’

Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug – ‘Havana’

Childish Gambino – ‘This Is America’

Lil Dicky ft. Chris Brown – ‘Freaky Friday’

The Carters – ‘APES**T’

Best Song

Ariana Grande – ‘No Tears Left to Cry’

Bebe Rexha ft. Florida Georgia Line – ‘Meant To Be’

Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug – ‘Havana’

Drake – ‘God’s Plan’

Post Malone ft. 21 Savage – ‘rockstar’

Best Pop

Ariana Grande

Camila Cabello

Dua Lipa

Hailee Steinfeld

Shawn Mendes

Best New



Cardi B

Hayley Kiyoko

Jessie Reyez

Best Look

Cardi B

Dua Lipa


Nicki Minaj

Post Malone

Best Hip-Hop




Nicki Minaj

Travis Scott

Best Live

Ed Sheeran



Shawn Mendes

The Carters

Best Rock

5 Seconds Of Summer

Foo Fighters

Imagine Dragons



Best Alternative

Fall Out Boy

Panic! At The Disco

The 1975

Thirty Seconds To Mars

twenty one pilots

Best Electronic

Calvin Harris

David Guetta


Martin Garrix

The Chainsmokers

Biggest Fans


Camila Cabello

Selena Gomez

Shawn Mendes

Taylor Swift

Best World Stage

Clean Bandit MTV Crashes Plymouth, UK 2017

Charli XCX MTV Crashes Plymouth, UK 2017

David Guetta Trafalgar Square, UK 2017

Jason Derulo Isle of MTV Malta 2018

Post Malone Wireless Festival, UK 2018

Migos Wireless Festival, UK 2018

J Cole Wireless Festival, UK 2018

Nick Jonas MTV Spotlight @ Hyperplay, Singapore 2018

Alessia Cara MTV Spotlight @ Hyperplay, Singapore 2018

Best Push

PRETTYMUCH (October 2017)

Why Don’t We (November 2017 )

Grace VanderWaal (December 2017)

Bishop Briggs (January 2018)

Superorganism (February 2018)

Jessie Reyez (March 2018)

Hayley Kiyoko (April 2018)

Lil Xan (May 2018)

Sigrid (June 2018)

Chloe x Halle (July 2018)

Bazzi (August 2018)

Jorja Smith (September 2018)

Best U.S. Act (Best Local Act*)

Ariana Grande

Camila Cabello

Cardi B

Imagine Dragons

Post Malone

Leave a Reply

You May Like